CITB Plant Operations Training Standards

CITB has introduced a first set of new standards for the training of plant operators and allied occupations and for the plant and lifting sector, including the categories of:

  • Excavator 360, above 10 tonnes (tracked)
  • Forward tipping dumper (wheeled)
  • Rear tipping dumper/dump truck: articulated chassis (all sizes)
  • Ride on roller
  • Telescopic handler: all sizes excluding 360 slew
  • Industrial forklift
  • Plant and Vehicle Marshaller
  • Slinger, Signaller: all types, all duties.

They have been developed in collaboration with industry working groups, made up of employers, providers and federations, with the various working groups chaired by CPA staff or members. The new standards are made up of learning outcomes that encompass the technical content and assessment criteria as well as specifying training durations for both novice operators and those with some experience. These new standards are intended to provide consistency to plant training and testing requirements across the construction industry and alongside the new standards. The next tranche of standards will include the other variations of the listed categories as well a range of new categories.

The grant rates for plant training and tests will also be changed, where a single, combined grant will be available for all CITB registered employers. Currently, three smaller grants are available for practical test, theory test and short course training, which employers can apply in different ways. There are two sets of grant per standard, novice learners and experienced operators, with a higher level of grant available for novice learners which requires additional training days. The grant which was avaialble for testing for a CPCS card has been removed.

From 31 July 2023, a transition period will be in place for two months, allowing employers to still receive grant for either the old or new standards while the process is embedded. After September, grants will only be available against the new requirements for the training and testing of the eight categories listed in the first tranche. For employers to be able to claim grant, training will need to meet the technical and assessment content of the standard, be delivered by a CITB-Approved Training Organisations (ATO) and leads to a plant card that carries the CSCS logo (currently CPCS and NPORS). Employers seeking grant will need to provide their CITB registration number to an ATO, who will apply for the grant on their behalf. Any other plant training that is separate from the new standards will remain eligible for grant and employers can apply for this in the same way they currently do.

More information on the new training standards can be viewed at: